Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Senior Citizen Savings Scheme (SCSS)

The “Senior Citizen Savings Scheme” (or SCSS) is a deposit scheme specially meant for elderly citizens.

Features / Overview of the Senior Citizen Savings Scheme (SCSS)

Age Criteria:

The investment can be made only by people of 60 years of age or above. People who have retired on superannuation or under a voluntary retirement scheme can also invest if they are at least 55 years old. People retiring from defense services are eligible to invest in the scheme irrespective of the age limit, but there are some additional conditions applicable.

Other Restrictions

The Senior Citizen Savings Scheme account can be opened only by individuals. It can not be opened by Non-Resident Indians (NRI), Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) and Hindu Undivided Families (HUF).

Source of Funds

For people between 55 and 60 years of age, the amount invested in SCSS has to come from their retirement benefits. For persons over the age of 60 years, there is no restriction on the source of funds invested.


The Senior Citizen's Savings Scheme has a maturity of 5 years, which is extendable by 3 years.

 Interest Rate

The rate of interest offered on the investment is 9% per annum.

Interest Payment

The interest is computed and paid out every quarter. That is, the interest is paid out every three months.

Income Tax Treatment

There is Section 80C income tax benefit on the investment made in SCSS, but there is no income tax benefit on the interest earned from it. The investment made in the Senior Citizen Savings Scheme on or after 1st April, 2008 is deductible from your income under section 80C of the Income Tax Act. The interest earned on the deposit is fully taxable.

(To know more about the deductions under section 80C, and the avenues of investment u/s 80C, please read "Saving Income Tax – Understanding Section 80C Deductions")

Tax Deducted At Source (TDS)

The income tax applicable is deducted at source. If your income is not taxable, you can provide form 15H or 15G so that no tax is deducted at source. The tax is deducted at source only if the total interest in a year is over Rs. 5,000.

Investment Limits

The minimum investment is Rs. 1,000, and the maximum allowed investment is Rs. 15 Lakhs. Any amount between Rs. 1,000 and Rs. 15 Lakhs can be invested in multiples of Rs. 1,000.

Joint Account

The account can be opened as a single account, or can be opened in joint names. The joint account holder can only be the spouse. There is no age limit applicable for the joint account holder (spouse). In case of the death of the primary account holder, the spouse can continue the account – this is subject to the condition that his / her total investment in SCSS should not exceed Rs. 15 Lakhs.

Premature / Early Withdrawal

The amount can be withdrawn before the maturity date, provided the deposit is at least 1 year old. But early withdrawal carries a penalty as follows:

  • Account age between 1 and 2 years: 1.5% of the deposit amount
  • Account age over 2 years: 1% of the deposit amount

Loan / Pledging

You cannot obtain a loan against the SCSS account by pledging it.


Nomination facility is available for the Senior Citizen Savings Scheme. Names of one or more persons can be specified as nominees. Nomination can be done even after opening the account. The nomination can also be changed or canceled later. Nomination can also be done in case of joint accounts. In such cases, the joint holder is entitled to the amount in case of death of the primary account holder. The nominee(s) would have a claim only after the death of both the joint holders.

Names of Banks handling SCSS:

  1. State Bank of India
  2. State Bank of Hyderabad
  3. State Bank of Indore
  4. State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur
  5. State Bank of Patiala
  6. State Bank of Saurashtra
  7. State Bank of Mysore
  8. State Bank of Travancore
  9. Allahabad Bank
  10. Bank of Baroda
  11. Bank of India
  12. Bank of Maharashtra
  13. Canara Bank
  14. Central Bank of India
  15. Corporation Bank
  16. Dena Bank
  17. Indian Bank
  18. Indian Overseas Bank
  19. Punjab National Bank
  20. Syndicate Bank
  21. UCO Bank
  22. Union Bank of India
  23. United Bank of India
  24. Vijaya Bank
  25. ICICI Bank Ltd.

It may be noted that only designated branches of these banks have been authorized to handle SCSS, 2004.